Spiffy 100K pixel digital Camera !

What would a cigarette company (Pall Mall) send my sister in order to buy more cancer sticks ?! Zippo’s and matchbooks, too obvious, she already had them.

Better promotion: a digital camera. So, she gave me the camera, interesting to say the least.

Specs:
100K pixels
onboard memory of 16 MB (I don’t know how it’s stored, but the accompanying instructions warn that if you take out the Chinese AAA batteries with it, the pictures will be erased.)

Image sensor: 100K pixel CMOS sensor
Internal Memory: 1 – 16Mb built in SDRam
Modes: Digital video recording (no sound)
Still photos
PC Camera
Resolution: 352×288 (CIF)
176×144 (QCIF)
Storage Capacity: CIF 18 images
QCIF 64 images
Shutter Speed: 1/10000 (typo? I’m thinking it’s really 1/1000)
Lens: Fixed f=4.0mm
Focus Range: 30cm to infinity
Aperature: F2.5
Self Timer: 10 seconds

It came with a USB 1.1 cord, but Tiger (OS X) doesn’t recognize the camera (But the cord works with my mom’s fuji camera), so I haven’t been able to transfer any of the pictures from the camera yet. It also came with drivers on a mini cd (windows only) and an instruction booklet, which I’ll try to scan later.

Anyone else care to share anymore about this camera ?

edit: expanded specs are credited to shrackman – Link

Update: June 5, 2009: Ubuntu 9.04 reports the camera as a “NHJ, Ltd Che-Ez Snap SNAP-U/Digigr8/Soundstar TDC-35” and it automatically appears in nautalis when the camera is connected via USB, but no files are accessible within the folder. :(

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Alan  On September 6, 2006 at 9:23 pm

    I got one of them also. I haven’t been able to get windows to recognize it either. There should been a site or something to download the software with it.

    I dunno
    A

  • skorasaurus  On September 10, 2006 at 11:14 am

    Hey Alan,

    A mini CD-rom that had the installation software on it came along with my camera.
    Check that out or for it somewhere. If I can upload the driver onto here, I might do that.

    edit: another place I found with some more info is at http://forums.photographyreview.com/showthread.php?t=24402

  • NetMusician  On November 28, 2006 at 2:51 pm

    So…anyone still have that little mini-cd with the drivers on it. And (more to the point) could you put that darned driver on the web somewhere so that I can get it? Seems I still have the camera, have no idea what happened to that disc though ;)

  • skorasaurus  On November 28, 2006 at 3:02 pm

    Hey,

    I’ll have access to the mini-cd and a windows computer when I return home on Thursday or Friday.
    I’ll try out the camera and upload the drivers onto here. ^_^

  • Ben  On December 1, 2006 at 6:30 pm

    I am hoping you will put those drivers up cuz I need them too. THANKS!

Leave a Reply

