Update One of the college life

hey,

I’ve been here for a few days now, no classes yet. It’s been training for organizational leaders, of how to be assertive. I expected it to be one of those presentations that was high on production values and low on substance withrehashed Dale Carnegie material.

Actually, it was a lot better than that.  It had some good information about how to handle conflict, head it off, and it helped confront my fears of public speaking a bit.

Secondly, I’m one of the students in charge of the radio station [ WJMD Radio ] this year and the station is moving from its home in basement of Hicks Center (the entire building is being remodeled for the first time in 40 years) in a to a temporary home in the library. The radio station area is actually pretty large and a few rooms in there looked like they haven’t been touched in years. The one room, I walked into an engineering room, circa 1980’s or so with old wires, transmitter parts scattered all over the place. I don’t have a camera with me now, but i’ll try to get some pictures on flickr. Also the DJ booth has all sorts of interesting banter written on its walls from the past years. I’d like to take a few pictures of it and see the evolution of the station by reading the walls.

One thing that I’m cringing about is that we don’t have enough space to store all of our old vinyl (I’ve heard its the largest vinyl collection in Michigan, but I’d doubt it) in the temporary station in the Library (I haven’t mentioned putting it into off-site storage yet, but I hope that could be an option) and will try to sell some of the vinyl for the station’s general expense fund. :/

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

