Good News for the O.B.(Old Brooklyn)

Towpath trail connectors to Harmody Park Planned

A trail is being built from Harmody Park to connect to the Towpath Trail ! It will be connected to the Steelyard Commons as well. From a PD article , the project might be moving along now, but there’s no timetable (as far as I know) of when it will be started [other than ‘soon’] or when the project will be completed.
After looking at the proposed trails on the map, I’d love for this project to feasiblely allow someone to walk or bike from the Treadway Connector to the Steelyard Commons and go shopping there. However, I wonder how much of a barrier will the geography of the hills will discourage that from happening and what the archetects are doing to make sure the hills won’t be a problem.

However, as I think about it, I wonder how many people will use the trail as transportation instead of exercise and nature walks. I’m not sure what their planners’ intentions are, but if it’s more than a 1/4 or 1/2 mile (1) from the Treadway Connector to Steelyard Commons, most people probably would not be willing to do it. The distance from Tremont (say, Starkweather and 14th) to Steelyard Commons (or more specifically, the stores down the hill) is something I’d like to know.

Anyways, I spent some good times playing and hanging out in the ravine (My friends and I just called it the gully)…

cheers, will.

1 – It’s an urban planning stat, that most people aren’t usually willing to walk more than that distance for a general errand or affair. Sure I’d like it (the distance) to be higher, but I just don’t know if that will happen.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kris  On March 16, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    The hills may be a problem for city dwellers accustomed to driving everywhere and excercising indoors. However, if you look at the trails running through the Cuyahoga Valley and the suburbs of Broadview Hts, Brecksville, Boston Township, et al we can see regular use of the trails, regardless of a steep grade to climb up. I speak only from experience and observation of others using the trails as I did.

Leave a Reply

