Post 14 of study abroad in dakar

So, it’s been a while since the last writing, but I’m here and it’s going well. Looking back on the past month, it went by quick.

I was quite ill for 2 days – a lab test ($ 120 – ouch) said it was “Entamoeba histolytica” and I was put on a few antibiotics (the medicine here is imported from France, about 6 different ones, cost $50 or so) for 6-8 days. I feel fine at least now and am more appreciative of my health.

For a K-unit, (the equivalent of taking a course at K for a quarter), i’m doing an internship at a local radio station. I do some technical stuff, editing the prerecorded reports for the daily newscast (a half hour program of news relating to local, country, the region of west Africa, and internationally) . It’s easy work, a laidback environment, and I do that for 3 days a week, 5 hours a day.

The CAN, a big soccer/football tournament of national teams in Africa is going on until Feb. 10th. Senegal got knocked out in the first round and the press was pretty critical of it – putting all the blame on the players (you don’t see that in the US).

I have recognized that my time in Dakar will be ending in weeks and I’m accepting of it. You almost forget about going back ‘home’ (in the USA) and the thought that you won’t be here (here, in Senegal, I mean, not on earth) forever has always been in the back of my mind here, but it just takes on a new meaning, understanding to me when I recognized that’s coming up soon. I’ll definitely miss some people here but I’m beginning to anticipate returning to the USA and Cleveland (and K college).

There’s a couple new photos on my flickr account; but I’ll probably add a lot more once I return to the USA and have access to high speed internet (it’s like the equivalent of very slow dsl here) and my laptop.

It’s frustrating in that sense (I haven’t been able to do as much with photos and the blog), but it’s reflective of my life in Senegal (for better and worse). It just takes a lot longer to do things here than in the USA. Some of this increased delay is because of my circumstances: I don’t speak wolof fluently (but locals give me compliments on it occasionally) and I don’t still know some of the cultural cues, acts, of how to get everything done. But, in general, it’s that society moves slower, in the sense of time, efficiency here, (random electricity blackouts – though there’s only been one this month), an overcrowded city, the weather (being hotter and drier, you get tired quicker – though some of is me just not being used to the climate). People (when you have to do business or meet someone) get insulted if you don’t greet them (longer than just the ‘hi, how are you ? im good’ in the USA). Cooking is more than just popping something in the oven or microwave.

until later.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • amayelsnotes  On February 5, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Hey There,

    very interesting stuff. Im form Senegal myself and hope you had (since you’re almost leaving) a good time. Home (mine at least) can be pretty “interesting” experience…
    looking Fwd to reading more!

    Tchuss,
    M.
    PS: our soccer team does need a serious beat DOWN!

    amayelsnotes.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

