The Future of St. Casimir’s Church (Cleveland)

Edit: Nov. 12, 2009 – This is a late notice, but I notice this post has received a lot of hits to the blog. The official closing date is Nov. 15, 2009 (Sunday).

Edit – March 14, 2009 – Well, it is now official. The parish of St. Casimir will be closing.
(source: http://blog.cleveland.com/metro/2009/03/parishioners_in_the_cleveland.html
As of now, no closing date has been set.

Edit (July 9, 2008): My grandpa mentioned a couple weeks ago that the closing of St. Casimir is not definite.(As for what caused this change, I do not know, I’ll try to find out).
As of now, the Diocese’s Clustering process will close two of the following parishes: St. Hyacinth, Our Lady of Lourdes, St. Casimir, and (one more parish – I believe St. Stan’s is the fourth).
There is no set date for this process.

I apologize for not taking more initiative to verify my sources before posting originally posting this. I am sorry. I hope to update this and directly talk to more sources – my grandpa [40+ year parishioner], and Fr. Telesz).
If you have any information, don’t hesitate to contact me and add a comment.

March 9, 2008
(I just arrived back from Dakar, Senegal last Tuesday, so there’s a bunch of things on my mind with that, and I’ll be posting about that soon as well).

St. Casimir’s Roman Catholic church, on 8223 Sowinski Ave. (located near Rockefeller Park and MLK Jr. Drive) will be closed soon (It is not known if it will close). The official announcement will be given by the Bishop at Sunday mass (was scheduled to be at the 10:30 am mass, but the mass has been cancelled  due to weather. The Bishop’s appearance has not been rescheduled yet, as far as I know).

(I add that I don’t know if this violating blogger ethics, and I hesitated to post this since Tuesday but I’ll do it – it has not been officially announced to the public). It hits a bit close to home (parents were married there, mother attended grade school there, also is the parish of my grandparents) and it will to some others as well – and I think some people may have forgotten the role that the church once played for a neighborhood.

(Sources: My father, who spoke to a previous associate pastor, Fr. John, on Tuesday, who received the news from Telesz a day or two earlier). Tuesday, March 4th also happened to be the Feast Day* of St. Casimir, ouch.

(to clarify, “Most saints and holy people have specially designated feast days. On those days we remember these holy men and women in a special way.Source- http://www.americancatholic.org/Features/Saints/bydate.aspW

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

