Cleveland neighborhood map updates.

I’ve been working on my Cleveland neighborhood map quite a bit behind the scenes.

One major problem has been holding me up. If you haven’t seen already, the current version 1.2 of the map, does not cover the entire city. I mistakenly forgot to include a small part of Collinwood (in the northeast corner) in the original map data. Thus, I obtained new OSM map data for the entire city of Cleveland [shown as data.osm in the diagram below] and convert it into an SVG file [this conversion is called rendering] so I can later add the neighborhood boundaries.

[Source: the Openstreetmap wiki]

The rendering process takes about 6-7 hours on my computer. Not that big of a problem but, interestingly, the municipal boundaries, marking the borders of the city of Cleveland from the suburbs do not show up on the new rendered SVG ! Why ? That’s what I’ve been trying to figure out over the past week or two !

Hopefully, I’ll be able to figure it out with the help of some friendly people in the OSM irc channel.

I also plan on including a couple more neighborhoods and a scale for the next release of the map.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

